Liebster Award

Liebster Award

Thanks to krisalex333 for including me in the Liebster Awards. The Liebster Awards are a chain of blogposts that introduce readers to new blogs and let us all get to know one another a little better. Below I include the rules, my answers to krisalex333’s 11 questions, 11 facts about me, and my own nominees and questions.

Liebster Rules

  1. Thank the person who nominated you, and post a link to their blog on your blog.
  2. Display the award on your blog, by including it in your post and/or displaying it using a “widget” or a “gadget”. (Note that the best way to do this is to save the image to your own computer and then upload it to your blog post.)
  3. Answer 11 questions about yourself, which will be provided to you by the person who nominated you.
  4. Provide 11 random facts about yourself.
  5. Nominate 5 – 11 blogs that you feel deserve the award, which have a less than 1000 followers. (Note that you can always ask the blog owner this since not all blogs display a widget that lets the readers know this information!)
  6. Create a new list of questions for the bloggers to answer.
  7. Copy & paste these rules in your post. Once you have written and published it, you then have to:
    • Inform the people/blogs that they have been nominated for the Liebster Award.
    • Provide a link to this post so that they can learn about it.

11 Questions

  1. Why do you blog? I blog because I have very little in-person contact with the trans community. I have no close trans friends and only occasionally seek out trans-focused spaces. I move through the world every day as a transsexual man, but few people in my life know it. Blogging gives me an outlet for my observations and experiences as a trans man. I especially hope to reach folks who are struggling with being transgender and perhaps share some information, encouragement and hope.
  2. On whom did you have your first crush? I have had crushes for as long as I can remember, so it’s difficult to pick a first. I remember the girls I had crushes on in preschool (Zoe, Esther, Abby…), but I guess that doesn’t count. I vividly remember a passionate crush on a friend in the 8th grade, which prompted me to come out as liking girls. Sadly it was not reciprocated. At all. Haha.
  3. What was your favorite subject at school and why? Art. I loved (and still love) the tranquil productivity of being totally immersed in a project. I think I also liked the opportunity to work alone, being creative without any social stresses. The school I attended in grades 7-12 had tons of art classes. I took about five years of photography there (darkroom variety)–it was awesome.
  4. Would you like to have a space flight? Hell yes. I used to think I would never want to go to space, but I recently changed my mind. If I ever got the opportunity to see Planet Earth from space, I would take it. I would be terrified, but the chance would be too amazing to miss.
  5. Any phobias? Heights. I get vertigo on bridges. See aforementioned space-flight terror.
  6. Are you superstitious? I intended to say no, but quickly realized the honest answer is yes. I have charms in my house to ward off the Evil Eye.
  7. What is your favorite sport to play or watch? I hate sports. All sports. I do not play them, I do not watch them.
  8. Do you have a role model? If so, who? My dad is probably my main role model. But I have a lot of role models, who embody different qualities to which I aspire.
  9. What is your most productive time of day? Mid-morning, fully caffeinated, not yet hungry for lunch.
  10. Do you have any tattoos? Yes, six of them. I want more, many more.
  11. City or county life? City at the moment. I think I’d like to have a more pastoral existence in the future. Then again, I really like the urban/rural balance where I currently live–I live in a city, but drive 20 minutes in any direction, and you’ll find mountains, deserts, farmland, hiking trails, camping spots, etc.

11 Random Facts About RP

  1. I’m a vegetarian.
  2. I live in the Land of Enchantment. Major points if I you know where I mean without a Google search.
  3. Two of my tattoos are homemade stick-and-pokes.
  4. My favorite band is Neutral Milk Hotel. I don’t listen to them very often these days, but I recently saw them live, which was really a dream come true.
  5. My current favorite book of the Torah is Ecclesiastes. I am obsessed with Ecclesiastes. I have even quoted it here on Today I Am A Man (1, 2).
  6. The farthest I’ve ever been from home is Negros Oriental, the Philippines.
  7. I have two dogs, a heeler and a pit mix.
  8. I majored in American Studies. If you have no idea what that is, you’re not alone.
  9. I love spicy food.
  10. I have recently become obsessed with bonsai trees.
  11. I meditate every day. Almost.

Liebster Nominations

Nominees, answer these questions in your Liebster post:

  1. Why do you blog?
  2. If you could travel anywhere, where would you go? Why?
  3. What work (book, film, music) has most influenced your worldview? Pick a few if you can’t narrow it to one.
  4. What is your favorite food?
  5. What was your first job?
  6. What was the first concert you attended (of your own volition)?
  7. Besides blogging, how do you spend your free time?
  8. What chore or errand do you dislike the most?
  9. Where are you while writing this post?
  10. Describe one of the strangest experiences you’ve ever had.
  11. What is the secret of life? According to you, of course.

All readers should feel free to answer any of these questions in the comments, just for fun.

One comment

  1. Pingback: Liebster Award | The Catholic Transgender

Leave a Reply

