13 Reasons To Forgive Hitler

I forgive you, Adolf Hitler
Because a man accomplishes nothing alone
Because all violence is an expression of pain
Because you are dead
Because my grandmother couldn’t
Because holding the hot coal of hatred is destroying the soul of my people
Because I hope the grandchildren of murdered Palestinians will find forgiveness in their hearts
Because the world cannot be improved by any more hatred
Because it is the greatest taboo
Because you were riding the runaway juggernaut like the rest of us
Because there is blood on all of our hands
Because forgiving is neither forgetting nor affirming
Because forgiving is healing
Because hatred kills the living but will never raise the dead.

2 comments

  1. resident_alien

    I will never forgive Hitler.
    Because forgiveness is wasted on those without awareness and remorse.
    I accept his place in history,though, just as I am working on accepting my own history.
    All the best to you, resident_alien

Leave a comment